> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.rhinofcp.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.rhinofcp.com/settings/about-multiple-workgroups.md).

# About Multiple Workgroups

Rhino FCP users can be members of multiple workgroups. A workgroup is the foundational unit of collaboration in the Rhino FCP. When a user is assigned an account by their administrator, they are assigned to a primary workgroup and a role. Once the initial workgroup has been assigned, a workgroup administrator can assign that user to more than one workgroup.

Users who are members of multiple workgroups can:

* Manage different project roles or collaborate with different teams without needing to provision and log out of multiple accounts.
* Be assigned different roles in different workgroups.
* Dynamically switch between active workgroups without requiring a full re-login or re-authentication.

This streamlines the process of switching between workgroups so that you can work more efficiently.

## Switching Between Multiple Workgroups

If you belong to more than one workgroup, select a different workgroup by doing the following.

{% stepper %}
{% step %}
Select the Workgroups icon from the bottom of the page to see the Select Workgroup switch control. (This is only visible if you are in more than one workgroup.) In the Select Workgroup switch control, the currently-selected workgroup has a check mark next to it.

![](/files/88d2efb65451a03dd9c0a1295ec369a7e2e80d9e)
{% endstep %}

{% step %}
Select another option to switch workgroups. Note that project lists, federated datasets and other FCP application views/screens will be filtered and scoped to the currently active workgroup.
{% endstep %}
{% endstepper %}

## What is the Impact of Switching Between Multiple Workgroups?

If you're part of more than one workgroup, here’s a simple overview of how external mounted storage, SFTP credentials, secure access, hidden collaborators, and privacy are managed.

<details>

<summary>Can Users Be Part of Different Workgroups in Different Organizations?</summary>

Yes. Users belong to workgroups, not organizations. For more information on how to manage user accounts, see [Managing User Accounts.](/settings/managing-user-accounts.md)

</details>

<details>

<summary>How Do Client-Mounted Storage and SFTP Credentials Work with Multiple Workgroups?</summary>

Each workgroup has its own Rhino Agent. Sometimes a workgroup shares a Rhino Agent with others, and sometimes it doesn’t. If you belong to multiple workgroups, the information you see in the FCP will come from the *workgroup you’re currently active in*.

#### SFTP

If your workgroups use *different* Rhino Agents, you’ll see different SFTP details. If they share the *same* Rhino Agent, the SFTP information might be the same. For more information see [Adding Data to your Rhino Federated Computing Platform (FCP) Client using SFTP.](/getting-started/quick-start-guide/adding-data-to-your-rhino-federated-computing-platform-fcp-client-using-sftp.md)

#### Client-Mounted Storage

If your workgroups have *different* client-mounted storage destinations, the client-mounted storage details will differ. If they use the *same* client-mounted storage, you’ll see the same information. For more information see [Importing and Exporting Datasets to and from Your Network Storage.](/getting-started/quick-start-guide/importing-and-exporting-datasets-to-and-from-your-network-storage.md)

</details>

<details>

<summary>How Does Secure Access Work with Multiple Workgroups?</summary>

Secure Access works only if the active workgroup you’re using has access to the data you need. For more information see [What is Secure Access?](/secure-access/what-is-secure-access.md)

</details>

<details>

<summary>How Do Hidden Collaborators Work with Multiple Workgroups?</summary>

Hiding collaborators is set at the project level. If it’s enabled, you’ll only see your own workgroup and the primary workgroup within a project, based on which workgroup you’re active in. Otherwise, you’ll be able to see all collaborators as usual. For more information see [Permissions.](/projects/persona-and-permissions-policies-reference.md)

</details>

<details>

<summary>How Does Privacy Work with Multiple Workgroups?</summary>

By default, users are part of only one workgroup. To join another workgroup, a Rhino Staff member or the second workgroup’s Workgroup Admin needs to add you. For more information, see [Managing User Accounts.](/settings/managing-user-accounts.md)

When you view objects in the system, your permissions depend on the workgroup you’re acting as. For example, if you’re in a project with two workgroups (A and B), and you’re an Admin of A but a Member of B, you won’t be able to perform admin actions on objects belonging to workgroup B.

</details>
